top of page

Zero to 60

This is how it has felt getting this year started!



It has been wonderful to meet the incoming Class of 2026 and to see and hear our building bustling again. Masks are masks and I do my best to remind people to wear them properly. Lockers have been opened, papers are going into binders, we're writing things on paper again!!


I have to once again transition my instruction back to paper with nothing digital because we don't have access to computer labs (social distancing needs to be sorted) and we don't have our usual Chromebook carts yet. I need to figure out how to double my supplies because most of my activities are built around small groups of 4 people working together, but now we are socially distanced into groups of 2.


I have felt a little shaky with getting my routines started, working on classroom management, and finding ways to build community without holding circles- oh, how I miss being able to have a class circle!!!


Anyway, we're learning about what causes the seasons (it's the tilt of Earth's axis AND where we are in our orbit around the sun). Next up will be tides, then gravity.


Lastly, I am working on scheduling our first Skype a Scientist session of the year with meterologist Stan Goldberg from the Hurricane Research Division at NOAA. I hope he can join us in mid October when we should be getting into our weather unit.



Recent Posts
bottom of page